What is ShortCut?

ShortCut is an online service that allows users to precisely define changes in a road network. These changes can then be published and communicated to navigation service providers.

If you want a ShortCut for your city or study, get in touch, we're happy to help!

Workflow

By default working with ShortCut is done in three steps:

Stockholm-icons / Design / Edit Created with Sketch.

Edit

Make your desired changes on the existing network.


Stockholm-icons / Navigation / Angle-double-right Created with Sketch.
Stockholm-icons / Navigation / Double-check Created with Sketch.

Test

Verify everything is working as it should.


Stockholm-icons / Navigation / Angle-double-right Created with Sketch.
Stockholm-icons / Files / Share Created with Sketch.

Publish

Publish the resulting map and data.


This guide will help you get started with doing this yourself, from mapping the new situation to publishing the data.

Example

We've added a small example below, a short section of road is set to 'under construction' and a default detour has been added.

Edit

Editing the network is done using the iD editor. A customized version is avialable in ShortCut.

Start editing

To start editing, first zoom-in to the area where you want to edit the network and then click on the edit menu.

Once clicked on the edit menu, the map switches to the edit in the exact same area.

If on the previous page and before clicking on the edit menu you have not zoomed-in enough on the edit area, editable map will also open in a zoomed-out level and you will see no link to edit. However, as soon as you zoom to the edit area, the links start appearing for you to edit.

Close a link for all traffic

  • Click on the link that you wish to close it off for all traffic.
  • Once the link is clicked, it starts glowing in red and options of the feature-bar (on the left) become editable.
  • Now in the “Under construction” section of the feature-bar, click on the checkbox. Once the checkbox is clicked, it changes from “🔳No” to “☑️Yes” and the corresponding link will be marked by a yellow-brown dashed line.
  • Once you’re done editing, click on the save menu on top-right of the map and then click on the “Upload” button.
  • Once changes are saved, if you go back to the Test mode by clicking on the Test menu, you will see that the this link is now marked with dashed-line*.

Vehicle Restrictions

  • Click on the desired link.
  • Once the link started glowing in red and options of the feature-bar (on the left) become editable, find “Allowed Access during this phase” section.
  • Click on the text box next to the vehilce type for which you would like to edit the access.
  • Select the relevant access value from the dropdown menu. Should you need more information about acces s values, please click here.
  • Once you’re done editing, click on the save menu on top-right of the map and then click on the “Upload” button.

Test

You can test your changes by planning routes on the network.

Test and verify access

Once the network is edited in accordance with the scenario in hand (e.g., Road Constructions/works), one can experiment changes that this scenario will bring about by switching to the Test mode.

Test mode allows you to verify accessibility as well as possible routing changes for an Origin and Destination pair. This verification is simply done by 2 mouse clicks on the map where:

  • The 1st click will be routing’s Origin and displayed as Ⓐ
  • The 2nd click will be routing’s Destination and displayed as Ⓑ

Subsequently you can select your desired routing profile/s in the "ROUTING" box at the top-right corner of the map.

ShortCut offers up to 10 instances (0-9). It is recommended to keep instance "0” as the Base-Scenario representing the existing situation and edit the network in other 9 instances (1-9) for creating new scenarios (e.g., future plans, etc.). This allows for an easier routing comparison between the existing situation and created scenarios as well as routing comparison among created scenarios themselves. See below for an example:

Publish

When you publish, the map will become public and data about the instance will be available. Publishing can be done by clicking "Publish" setting a name and a description and changing the status to published.